Sea Grant Announces the 2021 John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship Finalists

Megan McKeown
Katy Dalton

Congratulations to recent SMEA graduate Katy Dalton and soon to graduate Megan McKeown who were selected as Sea Grant John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellows for 2021. The 2021 finalists will become the 42nd class of the John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship program. The 74 finalists represent 27 of the 34 Sea Grant programs.

Knauss finalists are chosen through a competitive process that includes several rounds of review at both the state Sea Grant program and national levels. Students finishing Masters (M.S.), Juris Doctor (J.D.), and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) programs with a focus and/or interest in marine science, policy or management apply to one of the 34 Sea Grant programs. If applicants are successful at the state program level, their applications are then reviewed by a national panel of experts. This fall, the 2021 finalists will participate in a virtual placement week to get to know each other and interview with potential host offices. Following placement, they will begin their fellowships in February 2021.

This year’s Knauss finalists join a group of over 1,400 professionals who have received hands-on experiences transferring science to policy and management through one-year appointments with Federal government offices in Washington, D.C.

SMEA wishes you all the best in Washington D.C. next year!