Sea Grant Announces the 2020 John. A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship Finalists

Congratulations to recent SMEA graduates Katie Chicojay, Kelly Martin and Spencer Showalter who were selected as a Washington Sea Grant John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellows for 2020. The 2020 finalists will become the 41st class of the John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship program. The 69 finalists represent 27 of the 34 Sea Grant programs.

Knauss finalists are chosen through a competitive process that includes several rounds of review at both the state Sea Grant program and national levels. Students finishing Masters (M.S.), Juris Doctor (J.D.), and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) programs with a focus and/or interest in marine science, policy or management apply to one of the 34 Sea Grant programs. If applicants are successful at the state program level, their applications are then reviewed by a national panel of experts. This fall, the 2020 finalists will travel to Washington, D.C., to interview with several executive or legislative offices. Following placement, they will begin their fellowship in February 2020.

This year’s Knauss finalists join a group of over 1,300 professionals who have received hands-on experiences transferring science to policy and management through one-year appointments with Federal government offices in Washington, D.C.

SMEA wishes you all the best in Washington D.C. next year!

left to right: Katie Chicojay, Kelly Martin, Spencer Showalter