2018-19 Alaska Sea Grant State Fellows

Nyssa Baechler

Alaska Sea Grant recently announced the six graduate students that were selected to spend a year working with state and federal agencies to support healthy coastal communities and the marine environment. Three of the six 2018-19 State Fellows are SMEA students; Nyssa Baechler, Diana Perry, and Kayla Schommer. The fellowships strengthen Alaska’s workforce by cultivating future professionals working in marine science and policy, fisheries, and related disciplines.

Nyssa Baechler will be hosted by the U.S. Geological Survey in Anchorage. She will work on projects including hazard-mitigation modeling and Arctic flora and fauna conservation.

Diana Perry

Diana Perry will spend her fellowship at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Alaska Fisheries Science Center in Juneau working on the development of marine aquaculture in Alaska.

Kayla Schommer will write feature stories and develop social media about Alaska Sea Grant’s research, education and outreach initiatives with Alaska Sea Grant’s communications team in Anchorage.

The Alaska Sea Grant State Fellowship program, now in its fourth year, is modeled after the Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship, which places highly motivated young professionals in federal agencies in Washington, D.C., or in Congress. Both fellowships provide experience and networking opportunities that help recipients transition from academic study to the working world.

Kayla Schommer

Congratulations to all the 2018-19 Alaska Sea Grant State Fellows!